Call for Nominations Council Voting Members for the 2018-19 Scouting Year

Scouts Canada is a corporation created by an Act of Parliament. Each Council has a say in the governance processes of the corporation through three voting members who are elected pursuant to Policy 1014. All Scouts Canada members born before December 31, 2004 are eligible to serve as Voting Members and to vote for their Council’s Voting Members.

The Voting Members represent Councils at the Scouts Canada Annual General Meeting and vote on a series of governance resolutions, including the election of the Board of Governors. They also represent their Councils at Special Meetings, if one is called during their term. Council Voting Members are elected for a one year term. One of the three Voting Member positions is reserved for a youth member, but it should be noted that all three Voting Members from a Council may be youth members. By-law No. 2 defines youth members as those who are under the age of 27 years on September 1, 2018.

The 2018 Annual General Meeting will be held on November 17, 2018 in Montreal. Councils may ask their Voting Members to attend by webcast, video conference, or teleconference. Online voting facilities are made available for this purpose.

Scouts Canada Council Voting Representatives — June 25, 2018 to June 24, 2019

Battlefields Ethan Coudneys Robert Prentice Greg White
Cascadia Cassidy Benson Grant Loyer Vacant
Central Escarpment Incoming CYC Colin Ballantyne Dean Post
Chinook Heather McCracken David Forbes Chris Tindall
Fraser Valley Eoin Mowatt Dave Russell Mark Conklin
Greater Toronto Spencer Julien Jake Forsyth Vacant
Manitoba Victoria Knapp Valinda Bennett Sean Crick
New Brunswick Nathan Benner Heath Johnson Kerri Daamen
Newfoundland & Labrador Joel Hatcher Peter Hatcher Stephen Loney
Northern Lights Taelon Schuppli-Connolly Doug Slavik Carey Benson
Northern Ontario Kenny Hermiston David Chezzi Vacant
Nova Scotia Justin Chenier Mike Millard Doug Reid
Pacific Coast Vincent Wong Kate Nemeth Bill Akam
Prince Edward Island Vacant Waldron McDonald Vacant
Quebec Thomas Scoffield Jeff Smith Vacant
Saskatchewan Tim Lu Geoff Trofimuk Christian Nielsen
Shining Waters Jason Gringrich Scott Gringrich Dave Williams
Tri Shores Carlie Tiller Sandi Burns Patricia Baker
Voyageur Annabelle Loder Chris Lyon Vacant
White Pine Evelyn Robertson Randie Jacobs Vacant

Candidate Eligibility

A Candidate must:

  • be an Ordinary Member and be registered and active within the Council that he or she proposes to represent;
  • be nominated in writing by 5 Ordinary Members who are registered with the same Council as the Candidate;
  • have attained the age of 14 years in the calendar year in which the election is conducted.

Filing a Nomination

Interested members may download a Nomination Form here. Nominations must be submitted to Laura Jarvis, the Chief Elections Officer via e-mail ( no later than 5:00 PM EST, May 22, 2018. A Candidate may make a Candidate Statement of no more than 750 words for distribution to the Ordinary Members. A Candidate Statement may contain external links and must be capable of being reproduced in a digital file format which when printed will not exceed one 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper.

Voting Process

Policy 1014 governs the voting process. Information about the voting process, timelines and frequently asked questions can be found here. The voting uses the single transferrable vote system. Voters rank candidates in order of preference. This process is explained in more detail here. All Ordinary Members born prior to December 31, 2004 may participate in electing their Council’s Voting Representatives. Voting will be online through; please ensure that your MyScouts account has been setup. Detailed instructions as to how to vote will be sent out closer to the date of the election period.

There are two main parts to this year’s process:

  1. Call for Nominations is open from April 20, 2018 until May 22, 2018.
  2. Voting opens on June 1, 2018 and closes on June 22, 2018.

The Chief Elections Officer will announce results within seven days after voting closes.

Have questions?

For more information, please contact your Deputy Elections Officer or Laura Jarvis, Chief Elections Officer at

Annual General Meeting — November 17, 2018

Event Time Authority Dates
Nominations Open 210-212 days prior to the date of the Annual General Meeting, range allowing for nomination day to commence on a weekday Policy 1014, para. 10 April 20
Nominations Close 30 to 33 days after nominations open (variance permitted to ensure closure on a business day) Policy 1014, para. 10 May 22
Deputy Elections Officer to declare acclamations or need for election Within 3 days of close of nominations Policy 1014, para. 14 May 29
Candidate Statements, Voting Instructions and Ballots Distributed; Voting Opens Within 10 days of close of nominations Policy 1014, paras. 15-16 June 1
Deputy Elections Officer counts votes received and declares winners 21 days after voting opens and after 5:00 PM local time Policy 1014, para. 16 June 22
Old Voting Members’ Term Ends Before new election winners are declared By-Law No.2, Article IIa.(5) June 21
New Voting Members’ Term Starts Commencing for a period of one (1) year on the date of their election By-law No. 2, Article IIa.(5) June 22
Deputy Elections Officer reports Voting Members elected to Chief Elections Officer No later than 3 days after voting closes Policy 1014, para. 17 June 22-24
Chief Elections Officer publishes election results No later than 7 days after voting closes Policy 1014, para. 17 June 22-29


“Participating as a Voting Member has enriched my Scouting experience a great deal. We are a youth-led organization, and the mandate of at least one Youth Voting Member from every Council exemplifies this at every level of our organization. In both of my years as a Voting Member, all 3 Voting Members from my Council were youth, and I was honoured to be elected to the National Nominating Committee in 2015-16. It was a wonderful opportunity to make my voice heard, and to be able to represent all the youth and Scouters of my Council.”

Spencer Julien, 17 Years Old, Voting Member 2015/16, 2016/17 and 2017/18

“I remember when I first ran to be a Youth Voting Member, it was only my third year as a Scout, I was just getting my toes wet with the volunteer side of this great organization. Since then I have become more and more involved every year and have met so many great people within all levels of our organization. These positions have allowed me to represent and speak on behalf of the Youth in Nova Scotia on a national stage.”

Justin Chenier, 17 Years Old, Voting Member 2014/15, 2015/16, 2016/17 and 2017/18