Member Login | Find a Group | Français

Printer-friendly version

Elections

Scouts Canada is a corporation created by an Act of Parliament. Each Council has a say in the governance processes of the corporation through three voting members who are elected pursuant to Policy 1014. All Scouts Canada members born before December 31, 2003 are eligible to serve as Voting Members and to vote for their Council’s Voting Members.
 
The Voting Members represent Councils at the Scouts Canada Annual General Meeting and vote on a series of governance resolutions, including the election of the Board of Governors. One of the three Voting Member positions is reserved for a youth member, but it should be noted that all three Voting Members from a Council may be youth members. By-law No. 2 defines youth members as those who are under the age of 27 years on September 1, 2017.
 
"Participating as a Voting Member has enriched my Scouting experience a great deal. We are a youth-led organization, and the mandate of at least one Youth Voting Member from every Council exemplifies this at every level of our organization. In both of my years as a Voting Member, all 3 Voting Members from my Council were youth, and I was honoured to be elected to the National Nominating Committee in 2015-16. It was a wonderful opportunity to make my voice heard, and to be able to represent all the youth and Scouters of my Council.”
— Spencer Julien, 17 Years Old, Voting Member 2015/16 and 2016/17
 
The 2017 Annual General Meeting will be held on November 18, 2017 in Toronto. Councils may ask their Voting Members to attend by webcast, video conference, or teleconference. On-line voting facilities are made available for this purpose.
 
Each Council has a Deputy Elections Officer who receives nominations: 
 
Council DEO Email
Battlefields Vincent Bulman vincent.bulman@scouts.ca
Cascadia Bill Schulte wschulte@scouts.ca
Central Escarpment Dave Wiebe elections@scouter.ca
Chinook Arlette Watwood arlette.watwood@scouts.ca
Fraser Valley Peter Ballantyne pete.ballantyne@telus.net
Greater Toronto Patricia Sparks patricia.sparks@scouts.ca
Manitoba Shirley Schnellert shirley.schnellert60@gmail.com
New Brunswick Paul Potter Paul@pdppotter.ca
Newfoundland & Labrador Bruce Templeton brucetempleton@bellaliant.net
Northern Lights Shaun Donald shaun.donald@scouts.ca
Northern Ontario Anna Wright awright2@sympatico.ca
Nova Scotia James McCorry jmccorry@eastlink.ca
Pacific Coast Verna Adamson v_adamson@shaw.ca
Prince Edward Island Shona Whyte swhyte@upei.ca
Quebec Penny Hebert pennyhebert@me.com
Saskatchewan Shirley Larson slarson@scouts.ca
Shining Waters Bob Martinell martinellrs@hotmail.com
Tri Shores Steve Locke slocke1@cogeco.ca
Voyageur Rod Wilson rwilson@scouts.ca
White Pine Victor Woodburne victor.woodburne@scouts.ca
 
Each Council has a Deputy Elections Officer who receives nominations and manages the Council’s election. If you have questions, please contact your Council Deputy Elections Officer or Chris Pike, the Chief Elections Officer cpike@scouts.ca.
 
On April 22, 2017, a notice inviting nominations will be sent by e-mail to all members eligible to vote. Copies of this notice will also appear on the Council webpages and the individual Council elections pages.
 
“I remember when I first ran to be a Youth Voting Member, it was only my third year as a Scout, I was just getting my toes wet with the volunteer side of this great organization. Since then I have become more and more involved every year and have met so many great people within all levels of our organization. These positions have allowed me to represent and speak on behalf of the Youth in Nova Scotia on a national stage.”
— Justin Chenier, 17 Years Old, Voting Member 2014/15, 2015/16, and 2016/17
 

2017 Election Timelines

 
Event Time Authority Illustrative Dates
Nominations open 210-212 days prior to the date of the Annual General Meeting, range allowing for nomination day to commence on a weekday Policy 1014, para. 10 April 22
Nominations Close 30 to 33 days after nominations open (variance permitted to ensure closure on a business day) Policy 1014, para. 10 May 22
Deputy Elections Officer to declare acclamations or need for election Within 3 days of close of nominations Policy 1014, para. 11 May 22-25
Candidates to submit Candidates’ Statements to Deputy Elections Officer Within 7 days of close of nominations Policy 1014, para. 14 May 29
Candidate Statements, Voting Instructions and Ballots Distributed; Voting Opens Within 10 days of close of nominations Policy 1014, paras. 15-16 June 1
Deputy Elections Officer counts votes received and declares winners 21 days after voting opens and after 5:00 PM local time Policy 1014, para. 16 June 22
Old Voting Members’ Term Ends Before new election winners are declared By-Law No.2, Article IIa.(5) June 21
New Voting Members’ Term Starts Commencing for a period of one (1) year on the date of their election By-law No. 2, Article IIa.(5) June 22
Deputy Elections Officer reports Voting Members elected to Chief Elections Officer No later than 3 days after voting closes Policy 1014, para. 17 June 22-24
Chief Elections Officer publishes election results No later than 7 days after voting closes Policy 1014, para. 17 June 22-29
 

Related Resources:

 
Policy 1014 (PDF)
Nomination Form (PDF)
Formulaire de candidature (PDF)

 

2017 Candidate Statements

Read the candidate statements for those Councils holding elections below:

Scouts Canada, the country’s leading youth organization, offers challenging programs for boys, girls and youth age 5-26 in thousands of individual groups in most cities and towns across Canada.

Join Scouts Volunteer Donate Get Email Updates

Real Scouts Button

Hang On - Refreshing Form Data ...