The Canadian Path program is the way Scouting is done in Canada. Developed by Scouts Canada, this well-rounded program offers youth aged 5 to 26 an opportunity to experience new things, have more adventures and develop into confident and capable individuals, better prepared for success in the world.

From Beaver Scouts to Rover Scouts, youth take the lead in deciding what program areas they will pursue. Taking charge, the youth will organize ways to achieve these goals, and will collectively reflect on their experience after the goal is met. With support from adult Scouters, this “Plan-Do-Review” method is one of the many ways that the Canadian Path can help youth develop into critical thinkers, extend their personal progression, and encourage active participation in an inclusive team dynamic.

The Canadian Path brings Scouting back to its roots by using the Scout Method as its basis, which was first introduced by Lord Baden-Powell, founder of the Scout Movement.

Canadian Path FAQ

Have questions on how best to transition to The Canadian Path? Visit the Canadian Path FAQ on the Online Support Centre.

Canadian Path FAQ

The Canadian Path is comprised of several components:

  • A non-formal approach to learning
  • The seven components of the Scout Method
  • The Four Elements: Youth-led, Plan-Do-Review, Adventure and SPICES (the six attributes Scouting aims to foster: Social, Physical, Intellectual, Character, Emotional and Spiritual)
  • A balanced program in six Program Areas: Environment & Outdoors, Leadership, Active & Healthy Living, Citizenship, Creative Expression and Beliefs & Values
  • A personal journey of growth

The Four Elements

There are Four Elements that make up The Canadian Path:

  • Youth-led: The program is directed by its youth members—not the Scouters.
  • Plan-Do-Review: A three-step process informs all activities in the Canadian Path program.
  • Adventure: Scouts explore new things, share new ideas, learn new skills and create new paths.
  • SPICES: Social, Physical, Intellectual, Character, Emotional and Spiritual are the six dimensions of personal development for the Canadian Path program.
More about the Four Elements

Six Program Areas

The Canadian Path is divided into six Program Areas—categories of the different opportunities that Scouting offers.

Each Section explores all of the Program Areas through age-appropriate activities. As your Section plans its Adventures, you may discover that your plans include more than one Program Area.

Including features from multiple Program Areas makes the Adventure more challenging and encourages development in all of the SPICES. Remember, the Canadian Path is Youth-led, so the youth will decide on Adventures for every Program Area. The ideas below give a sense of the fantastic possibilities the six Program Areas can provide.

More about the Program Areas
  • Share Your Adventures

    Share your adventures with Adventures on the Path! Adventures on the Path is where all members of Scouts Canada can submit and share their adventures.

    Adventures on the Path

Share your thoughts with Scouts Canada about The Canadian Path and help us build a better program for today’s youth. You can do so by completing one or all of the below surveys.