Minutes of the 109th

Meeting of the Corporation of

Scouts Canada

November 15, 2019 2:00 pm ET

Sheraton Hotel

Ottawa, ON



NO. 1 WELCOME:

Richard Thomas, Chair of the Board, welcomed the members to the 109th meeting of the Corporation of Scouts Canada.

Voting Members were provided with a brief overview of voting instructions before proceeding with the business of the meeting. Returning Officers were identified to those present.

NO. 2 INVOCATION AND GONE HOME:

Robert Craddock, Member of the Board of Governors, read the list of Scouters who had Gone Home during the Scouting year.

NO. 3 SPECIAL CORRESPONDENCE AND REGRETS:

Andrew Price, Executive Commissioner & CEO, informed the members that no special correspondence had been received.

Regrets from Andrew Molson, Craig Kielburger, Dale Hooper, Consiglio Di Nino, Honorary Officers of Scouts Canada

NO. 4 APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES:

Andrew Price, Executive Commissioner & CEO

MOTION:

That the Minutes of the 108th Meeting of the Corporation of Scouts Canada on November 17, 2018, as circulated, be approved.

Moved: Doug Reid Seconded: Brian Wick Motion Carried

NO. 5 SAFETY MOMENT:

Jason Gingrich, Council Youth Commissioner for Shining Waters shared a Safety Moment.

NO. 6 REPORT FROM BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Richard Thomas, Chair of the Board, presented a report on behalf of the Board of Governors.

MOTION

Moved that the Report of the Chair of the Board to the Members be accepted.

Moved: Richard Thomas Seconded: Adam Benson Motion Carried

NO. 7 REPORT FROM THE NATIONAL KEY 3:

Tim Welch, National Commissioner Annabelle Loder, National Youth Commissioner Andrew Price, Executive Commissioner & CEO

MOTION:

Moved that the Report of the National Key 3 to the Members be accepted.

Moved: Neil Milner Seconded: Jeff Sauve Motion Carried

NO. 8 REPORT OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Steve Kent, Nominating Committee Member, presented the Report of the Nominating Committee.

NO. 9 ELECTIONS OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS:

I would like to move the approval by the Voting Members of the Nominating Committee's recommendation for

- Richard Thomas of Toronto ON as Chair of the Board
- Adam Benson of Toronto ON as Vice, Chair Strategic
- Kerri Onken of Mission BC as Vice, Chair Finance
- Tim Welch of Ottawa ON as National Commissioner
- Annabelle Loder of Ottawa ON as National Youth Commissioner.

Moved: Steve Kent Seconded: Brad Farmer Motion Carried

I would like to move the approval by the Voting Members of the Nominating Committee's recommendation of Mark Josselyn as the Honourary Legal Counsel, Andrew Price as Executive Commissioner & CEO, and Stephen Kent of Mount Pearl NL as the Past Chair of the Board to be Officers of the Scouts Canada Corporation.

Moved: Steve Kent Seconded: Mike Eybel Motion Carried

Consistent with Partners for Canadian Scouting Agreement signed by Scouts Canada on September 21, 2012, I would like to move approval by the Voting Members of the Nominating Committee's recommendation of Jean-Francois Champagne as the representative of l'Association des Scouts du Canada on Scouts Canada's Board of Governors.

Moved: Steve Kent Seconded: Kathleen Provost Motion Carried

I would like to move the approval by the Voting Members of the Nominating Committee's recommendation for election as Members of the Board of Governors:

Andrew Obee Oakville, ON Audrey Wubbenhorst Toronto, ON Brigitta Schuler East St. Paul. MB Carlie Tiller St. Thomas. ON Fazilah Shariff Calgary, AB Kathleen Provost Antigonish, NS Calgary, AB Robert Craddock Lillooet, B.C. Grant Lover

Moved: Steve Kent Seconded: Ethan Coudenys Motion Carried

I move the approval by the Voting Members of the Nominating Committee's recommendation respecting the election of the 6 Honorary Officers with voting rights, and the 129 Honorary Members non-voting of the Scouts Canada Corporation.

Moved: Steve Kent Seconded: Adam Benson Motion Carried

NO. 10 SELECTION OF VOTING MEMBERS TO SERVE ON THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE:

The Chair received the following nominations from the floor: Clinton Christiansen, Ethan Coudneys, Doug Reid, Heather McCraken, Jake Forysth.

Following the counting of the ballots, Laura Jarvis the Elections Officer announced the results of the vote: Doug Reid, Heather McCraken and Clinton Christiansen were elected to the Nominating Committee.

NO. 11 MOTIONS PRESENTED TO THE MEMBERS ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD:

Richard Thomas confirmed there were no motions to be presented to the Members.

NO. 12 ADOPTION OF AUDITORS REPORT AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS:

Kerri Onken, Vice-Chair Finance

MOTION:

I move that the Auditor's Report for the Scouts Canada National Operation dated November 5, 2019, be accepted; and that the financial statements of the National Operation of Scouts Canada for the year ending August 31, 2019, be accepted.

Moved: Kerri Onken Seconded: Heath Johnson Motion Carried

NO. 13 RECOMMENDATION APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS FOR 2019/2020:

Kerri Onken, Vice-Chair Finance

MOTION:

Moved that the firm of Kelly Huibers & McNeely be appointed as Auditors for the National Operation for the year ending August 31, 2020.

Moved: Kerri Onken Seconded: Brad Farmer Motion Carried

NO. 14 ADOPTION OF THE ANNUAL REPORT YEAR ENDING AUGUST 31, 2019:

Kerri Onken, Vice-Chair Finance

MOTION:

I move that the Annual Report of the National Operation of Scouts Canada for the year ending August 31, 2019, be adopted.

Moved: Kerri Onken Seconded: Mike Eybel Motion Carried

NO. 15 TRIBUTE TO VOLUNTEERS:

Annabelle Loder, National Youth Commissioner

MOTION:

I've been given the distinct honor to pay tribute to our volunteers – these dedicated people who believe in all work and no pay. They are unsung heroes who share their time, talent and energy to inspire and help young people become confident, contributing citizens of Canada. I ask that we take this occasion to recognize and thank them for their contributions to Scouts Canada.

Moved: Brad Farmer Seconded: Linda Butler-Dunn Motion Carried

NO. 16 APPRECIATION TO SPONSORS AND PARTNERS IN SERVING CANADIAN YOUTH:

Kathleen Provost, Board of Governors Member

On behalf of Scouts Canada, I would like to extend our sincere and grateful appreciation to all of our Sponsors/Partners across this great nation, who support and dedicate themselves to aiding us to fulfill our Mission to Canadian youth.

Moved: Kathleen Provost Seconded: Jake Forsyth Motion Carried

NO. 17 OTHER BUSINESS:

Richard Thomas, Chair of the Board

(a) Special Guests:

(b) Greetings:

- Sylvain Fredette, President of Association des Scouts du Canada
- Michael Burke, National Guildmaster, Canadian Fellowship of BP Guilds

(c) Confirmation of Acts:

Richard Thomas, Chair of the Board

MOTION:

Be it resolved that all acts, by-laws, proceedings, appointments, elections, and payments enacted, made, done and taken by the Board of Governors and the National Leadership Team members since the last annual meeting of the Corporation, referred to in the minutes of these bodies, of the Annual General Meeting or of the Annual Report, or in any way connected with the day-to-day business of the Corporation, are hereby approved and confirmed.

Moved: Brad Farmer Seconded: Jeff Sauve Motion Carried

NO. 18 ADJOURNMENT:

Richard Thomas, Chair of the Board closed the meeting.

Motion to Adjourn.

Moved: Annabelle Loder