Skip to main content

Novel Coronavirus — September 22, 2021 Update: Explore Scouts Canada’s actions as we continue to follow the direction of government and health agencies in maintaining public health. View recommendations and stay informed here. Learn more about Scouts Canada's new vaccination mandate.

Spring into Adventure ScoutCon 2021

April 07, 2021
April 26th to May 1st, 2021

Register for the various ScoutCon Sessions by going to the David Heustis Learning Center

Register Now

Session Outline & Agenda

Monday, April 26th

Opening Event
CANCELLED — will be re-scheduled for mid-June, date TBD

Keynote Address: LES STROUD (aka Survivorman)

Let’s Spring into adventure! Kick off the ScoutCon the right way by joining our special guest Les Stroud (aka Survivorman) and Scouters across the country for the start of our epic week. We will also give you all the information you need to have a successful experience at the ScoutCon. Trust me, this is not one you will want to miss.

 


Tuesday, April 27th

Scouters’ Survival Skills Night!
4:30PT/5:30MT/7:30ET

Do you have the Les Stroud skills needed to survive for a week in a remote location? No? We will teach you… or at least we will teach you some of the fundamental skills to survive Scout camp. Oh, and we will help prep your Section for the upcoming weeks of The Great 8 Challenge. You'll walk away more confident in your abilities in core Scouting skills like fire lighting, knot tying, and more. After the skills night, you will be racing to share your new skills with your Section's youth and fellow Scouters.

 


Wednesday, April 28th

Basic Outdoor Adventure Skills: Supporting Youth in Exploring and Discovery
4:00PT/5:00MT/7:00ET

Here we’ll take a look at various & innovative ways to guide youth in discovery of basic Trail and Scoutcraft skills. As we set off on the journey through Outdoor Adventure Skills stages, let’s cross the creek to explore some fun ways to assess newly acquired skills. With a focus on creating learning environments in all kinds of settings: at home, online, in-person, indoors and outdoors – we’re sure to impress and spur questions along the lines of, “You learned that skill where and how?!?”.

 

All Natural Adventure, No Preservatives.
5:30PT/6:30MT/8:30ET

Tuesday night regular meeting starting to feel stale? Want to explore some new ways to deliver great adventures. Spring and Summer opens up some of the best of what Scouting can offer.  Together, we will discover some fun opportunities to bring some warm sunshine to your section, that doesn’t have to be on your regular Scouting night.  Give your section what they really want, sun, friends and summer adventures. To think out of the box in what Scouting can be, what we can accomplish with a bit of Scouting sprinkled from May to September.

 


Thursday, April 29th

Tick & Lyme (Presented by PHAC) 
3:30PT/4:30MT/6:30ET

Ticks and tick-borne infections in Canada

Dr. Robbin Lindsay, Head of Field Studies at the Public Health Agency of Canada, explains where ticks can be found; how to remove and prevent exposure to ticks; and how to reduce the risk of tick-borne diseases like Lyme disease.

Outline:

  • Types of ticks
  • Tick development, host preference and feeding
  • Where you can find ticks
  • Lyme disease and other tick-borne infections
  • Tick prevention measures
  • Tick removal

 

“Safety Starts with Us”
5:00PT/6:00MT/8:00ET

This ‘Safety Starts with Us’ session will cover an introduction to Safe Scouting, the incident reporting basics (who, what, where, when, why and how) and we'll delve into the details of incident trends and best practices for ensuring great safe Scouting adventures.

New: The ‘Safety starts with Us’ session will provide Scouters with an introduction to the Safe Scouting team and our areas of responsibility within the organization. We will cover the basics of reporting incidents, and why we want to hear from you! The session will also cover upcoming incident trends for spring summer, review case studies of real incidents and the SMART recommendations. Youth safety best practices will also be discussed in order to help plan for safe Scouting adventures.

 


Friday, April 30th

One Ocean. Many Adventures”
4:00PT/5:00MT/7:00ET

Dive in with the Scouts Canada Program Design Team and Ocean Wise as we explore Life Under Water activities for your Scouts for Sustainability adventures! We will help you find activities to do with your youth that will pique their interest in all things Scouts for Sustainability and Ocean Awareness.

 

Scouters’ Mug-Up 
5:30PT/6:30MT/8:30ET

Grab your mug and join us for an evening chat of tips, tricks and share your experiences. Gather virtually with fellow Section Scouters to explore new resources and discover some great ideas as we Spring into Adventure.

 


Saturday, May 1st

ScoutED — for Scouters in their 1st year 
8:00 AM PT/9:00 AM MT/11:00 AM ET

You will be introduced to the Scouter Development Maps and resources that are available to you to help develop your skills and knowledge of the Canadian Path – which is how we implement the Scouting program. Sounds formal – but we make it fun. During the session, you will be assigned into small groups (patrols) to learn about all the support that is available to you to ensure you have the tools to create exciting Scouting adventures for the youth.

 

Mentorship Canada
10:00 AM PT/11:00 AM MT/1:00 PM ET

What is a mentor? We are often asked to mentor those around us, whether they be youth or new Scouters, but what exactly is a mentor, and how can you be the best possible mentor? Our Partners at Mentorship Canada have the answers you are seeking. Mentor Canada was launched in 2019 by Big Brothers Big Sisters of Canada, the Alberta Mentoring Partnership and the Ontario Mentoring Coalition.  Their orientation covers the basics of mentoring. They discuss the importance of mentoring, the role of the mentor, and what kind of support you can expect from your mentoring program. You will also learn how to build a positive mentoring relationship. No matter your experience as a mentor, this session promises to give you valuable resources to help your community grow and succeed.

 

One Ocean. Many Adventures
11:30 AM PT/12:30 PM MT/2:30 PM ET

Dive in with the Scouts Canada Program Design Team and Ocean Wise as we explore Life Under Water activities for your Scouts for Sustainability adventures!

 

Youth Panel
1:00 PM PT/2:00 PM MT/4:00 PM ET

Let us ask the youth! After all, it is their program. Join some of the most articulate and insightful youth Scouts Canada has for a panel discussion. The youth panel is the perfect opportunity to ask youth the important questions. Each panel will be centered around a theme that is relevant in the Scouting world today. We guarantee you will leave the forum energized with new ideas for your section.

 

AdventureSmart
2:30 PM PT/3:30 PM MT/5:30 PM ET

Get an exciting look into the programs AdventureSmart offers; Including a sneak preview of some of the future sessions AdventureSmart will be running for our membership in the coming weeks. Simply put this session will help you ‘adventure smart’.

 

Scouters’ Survival Skills!
4:30 PM PT/5:30 PM MT/7:30 PM ET

Do you have the Les Stroud skills needed to survive for a week in a remote location? No? We will teach you… or at least we will teach you some of the fundamental skills to survive Scout camp. Oh, and we will help prep your Section for the upcoming weeks of The Great 8 Challenge. You'll walk away more confident in your abilities in core Scouting skills like fire lighting, knot tying, and more. After the skills night, you will be racing to share your new skills with your Section's youth and fellow Scouters.