Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates — September 26, 2022 : Explore Scouts Canada’s actions as we continue to follow the direction of government and health agencies in maintaining public health. View recommendations and stay informed here.

Council Team

The White Pine Council provides support and guidance to groups and coordinates Scouter Development opportunities. The Council also coordinates larger events such as multi-group events such as Beaverees, Cuborees or Jamborees.

Learn about the White Pine Council team, who we are and how it is managed.

White Pine Council Service Team

Council Key 3

The White Pine Council is managed by two volunteers (the Council Commissioner and the Council Youth Commissioner) and one employee (the Scouting Relationship Manager), the Council Key 3 (CK3). 

The Council Commissioner is responsible for all aspects of program implementation, delivery, service and support, as well as the implementation of Scouts Canada's policies. The Council Youth Commissioner is responsible for providing direction, counsel and support to the youth within the council. The Scouting Relationship Manager is responsible for fostering membership growth and providing support to volunteers to enhance program quality and safety throughout the council. All three work as a team to manage the council and provide support to our volunteers council-wide to deliver fun, safe Scouting adventures!

Gwen Thornton Council Relationship Manager

Gwen Thornton

Council Relationship Manager
Jeff Sauve, Council Commissioner

Jeff Sauve

Council Commissioner
Michael Nebesny, Council Youth Commissioner

Michael Nebesny

Council Youth Commissioner 
June Fry, Incoming Council Commissioner

June Fry

Incoming Council Commissioner
june.fry@scouts.ca

Council Directory

-- Staff Roles --  Name Email Address
Scouting Relationship Manager Stephen Greensides stephen.greensides@scouts.ca
Scouting Relationship Manager Brittiny Catalano brittiny.catalano@scouts.ca 
Scouting Relationship Manager Robyn Wisken robyn.wisken@scouts.ca 
Program Support Manager Marc Chamberland marc.chamberland@scouts.ca
Registration Assistance Member Services registraton@scouts.ca 
PRC Processing Rosalie Pelkey rpelkey@scouts.ca
Financial Development Jenevie Austin jenaustin@scouts.ca 
Executive Assistant (Mail Permits/Insurance)  Rosalie Pelkey rpelkey@scouts.ca
Financial Analyst  Hoa Hguyen hoa.nguyen@scouts.ca 
School Permits Meena Bharwani meena.bharwani@scouts.ca 
     
-- Volunteer Roles --     
Group Support Scouter Anita Simmons anita.simmons@scouts.ca 
Group Support Scouter June Fry june.fry@scouts.ca
Group Support Scouter Lochlyn Newton lochlyn.newton@scouts.ca
Group Support Scouter Johanna deBoer  joanna.deboer@scouts.ca 
Group Support Scouter Anja Thomas anja.thomas@scout.ca 
Recognition Administration Ute Sack usack@scouts.ca
Property Committee Member Dave Reid cornelius7@sympatico.ca 
Website Brian Wick brian.wick@scouts.ca 
Council Voting Member Michael Nebesny michael.nebesny@scouts.ca
Council Voting Member Jeff Sauve jeff.sauve@scouts.ca
Council Voting Member June Fry june.fry@scouts.ca 
     
-- Properties Support Team --     
Camp Samac Duty Cell (Ranger) (not for booking) 905-809-9689
Camp Samac Bookings  (Doubleknot)  scouts.doubleknot.com/facilitysearch/4408
Camp Samac Summer Camp  Brittney Forester, Director brittney.forester@scouts.ca  
Camp Samac Warden Kevin Anyan  kevin.anyan@scouts.ca 905-260-3482
Property Support Manager Heather Erven heather.erven@scouts.ca

 

JOB POSTINGS

Are you passionate about making a difference in the lives of youth? Interested in a fun, adventurous, flexible and fast-paced opportunity in the non-profit sector? If so, apply at Scouts Canada today.

View our Current Opportunities

Local Volunteer Opportunities

Group Commissioner Positions Available:

Group Commissioners are the central point of contact between the council and groups. They help section scouters and ensure that groups have strong plans with regards to outdoor adventure, volunteers, finances, and safety.

We are currently seeking expressions of interest in the Group Commissioner position available for the following groups:

  • 18th Oshawa
  • 413th Whitby

As our front-line Volunteer managers, Group Commissioners have a critical role in building a healthy and vibrant Scouting movement in Canada – while being the visible ambassador of Scouts Canada within their community.  This position is open to Youth and Adults, ages 14+.

In Summary, the Group Commissioner:

  • Leads the group to positively impacting our Scouting Vision and Mission through membership growth
  • Role models and leads a positive culture that encourages safety first, risk management, sustainable growth, program quality and group health
  • Is committed to Scouts Canada’s program—the Canadian Path—that integrates the Four Key Elements: Adventure, Plan-Do-Review, SPICES and Youth-led
  • Ensures Scouts Canada’s Volunteer Support Strategy is implemented to all Scouters within the Group and that members (volunteers and youth participants) feel supported, recognized and rewarded for their contributions.
  • Works directly with a Groups Support Scouter (GSS) and/or Relationship Manager (RM) who acts as their single point of contact for support – making it easier for Groups to get help where and when they need it to be successful.

Time required is approximately 10-15 hours monthly, plus 2-3 weekends per year. Mentorship and onboarding are provided.

For the extended Job Description, click here.  The deadline to apply is March 31, 2022

Please submit your letter of interest and CV to the Committee Chair.

Contact Us

We'd love to hear from you!

To report or discuss urgent safety or youth protection concerns, please contact 1-800-339-6643 (24 hours).

General inquiries should be directed to 1-800-557-7268 or helpcentre@scouts.ca

For registration support, including contracts/agreements and certificates of insurance; tour permits; PRC/VSS, training and/or awards, please contact our Council staff. 

Council Office

White Pine Council  
1711 Simcoe St N,
Oshawa, ON
L1G 4Y1
 

Contact Information 

Central Ontario Service office: 416 490-6364

Main Fax: 416 490-6911

Hours

Office Hours

Contact the Council office to book an appointment

Find a Group

Looking to join your local Scouting group? Use our Group Locator Tool to find the Scout group(s) closest to you, and to contact the group for more information about their sections.

Find a Group